Skip to content
NetworkTechGuy

Palo Alto FW can't download software with proper licensing applied

By Nenad Karlovcec1 min read

We recently had a situation where firewall was complaining that it can't download software anymore with an error message An active license is required for this feature. Firewall was properly licensed and it was synced with the license server, but for some reason, it was still complaining about it.

The issue was resolved by simply entering request system software check in the CLI of the firewall:

Bash
admin@firewall>request system software check
Version               Size          Released on Downloaded
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
11.1.2               689MB  2024/02/25 20:55:06         no
11.1.2-h1            848MB  2024/03/13 07:08:38         no
11.1.1               662MB  2023/12/26 10:10:48         no
11.1.0-h2            508MB  2024/01/07 16:55:00         no
11.1.0              1276MB  2023/11/02 12:01:26         no
11.0.4               820MB  2024/04/08 12:30:07         no
11.0.3-h5            699MB  2024/02/22 10:13:41         no
11.0.3               699MB  2023/11/06 10:02:12         no
11.0.3-h3            699MB  2024/01/15 03:40:54         no
11.0.2-h3            677MB  2024/01/10 12:21:53         no
11.0.2-h2            677MB  2023/09/21 12:01:22         no
11.0.2-h1            677MB  2023/08/16 10:25:59         no
11.0.2               677MB  2023/06/28 10:13:32         no
11.0.1               591MB  2023/03/29 15:05:49         no
11.0.1-h3            592MB  2024/01/06 14:50:26         no
11.0.1-h2            592MB  2023/05/30 13:11:24         no
11.0.0-h2            460MB  2023/12/28 09:47:47         no
11.0.0               962MB  2022/11/17 04:45:54         no
11.0.0-h1            460MB  2023/11/06 17:10:28         no

After that, if Device -> Software was accessed again, it was able to retrieve the software updates again.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

Leave a comment

Never shown. A confirmation link is sent to it.

Plain text. A comment with more than one link waits for review.

Privacy: your name and comment are shown once published. Your e-mail address is never shown or passed on; it is used for the confirmation link and to recognise your later comments, and is deleted when you have no comments left here. Comments that are never confirmed are deleted after 7 days. Confirming sets a cookie in this browser so that it does not ask again.